We have arrived!

Standard

After I think what was possibly one of the most stressful and tiring weeks of my life, we have finally arrived in Singapore. Hooray, we are here! I can’t really believe it – the whole move has been on my mind for months now, so I am finding it slightly strange to think that I am really here.

The past week has seen us packing up every single thing in our London flat and deciding whether it should be shipped, stored, binned or anything else in between. I can safely say that I don’t think either the boy or myself realised how much stuff we have! The day the shippers came was actually really great – they were upbeat and friendly, telling us lots of stories about people who they’d moved in the past, which really helped keep me positive about the move.

We also had a big drinks do with all our friends which was absolutely wonderful, of course, but emotional nonetheless. It was lovely to see everyone, and I feel very blessed to have so many amazing friends, who care for us both very much.

But then suddenly, it was Sunday morning and I was waking up at the Will’s parent’s house for my last English morning in some time. It all felt remarkably normal and uneventful but then as the day progressed I started feeling more and more nervous. Thank goodness that the Will’s Mum is an absolute gem and kept me topped up with hugs whenever I started looking a bit tearful. Leaving at the airport was actually not as painful as I’d thought it would be – all our family members were there to wave us off, which was just wonderful. I am going to miss them all masses but I was glad we could all be together, even if briefly.  A quick trot around Boots for painkillers (I have managed to bruise my ribs…long story!) and then we headed to the gate. The flight itself was very smooth and amazingly I managed to sleep for quite a bit of it. I think by that point I was so exhausted that my body had just shut down!

And now we are here in our temporary apartment, not too far from Dhoby Ghaut MRT. It’s a serviced apartment, basically like a hotel room with a little kitchen, but it has everything we need in it which is great. Tomorrow, we have to go and set up a bank account for the boy, and one for me if they can do it tomorrow – we may have to wait until his is authorised. We are also seeing our estate agent, Woon, on Wednesday to see some apartments. The boy has found a really smart and new complex in Novena which we both really like the look of, so fingers crossed that we like it in the flesh! We also need to sort out our visas with MOM – at the moment we just have in principle letters, so we need to go and get them turned into the real thing (Employment Pass for the boy, Long Term Social Visit Pass for me). On Saturday we have a bit of treat in store – some of our friends bought us a leaving gift of a dinner package on the Singapore Flyer, where we get to be wined and dined whilst seeing Singapore from the air – very excited about doing that and celebrating our move properly.

I’ll make sure I dig my camera and charger out of our suitcases so I can a few photos for you all in the coming days, so that those of you at home can see where I am. For those of you in Singapore – Hello! I am really looking forward to meeting you all in the coming days and weeks.

12 responses »

  1. Welcome, welcome, welcome! Hope your first few days go well and that you enjoy your trip on the Flyer (how lovely of your friends to do that for you).

    Look forward to meeting you before long.

    • Thank you! I’m looking forward to the Flyer – we were chuffed to bits with that present.

      I’ll DM you my email address on Twitter so we can get a date sorted to meet up – looking forward to it!

    • Thank you sweet – missing you loads as well. Roll on March! We had a good day apartment hunting yesterday and have found a complex we both like. So fingers crossed it will be sorted soon. Love you lots x x x

  2. Fantastic update hun. Lovely to hear you are there, well and settling in!I hope the rib is on the mend. Love you lots and cant wait to hear from you again xxx

    • Thank you sweetie – rib is better than it was, but still not marvellous. I am managing with some paracetamol. Bloody Joe – I will need to have words with him 🙂 Hope you and Shaun are well – it was so lovely to see him on Friday. Love you lots x x x

  3. Welcome to Singapore! Leone has a lot of contacts which is “very” useful 🙂 I gather by now you have found permanent accommodation. How long are you in SG for?

Leave a Reply

