Singapore Bucket list #1: Singapore Botanic Gardens

Standard

Before we left the UK to come to Singapore, my lovely friend Kiri put together a Singapore ‘bucket list’ for Will & I to work our way through during our time here. I know traditionally a bucket list is supposed to be a list of things to do before you ‘kick the bucket’ (!) but you get the idea! So I would like to dedicate this post to the lovely Miss Jackson, and kick off my bucket list programme with a trip to the Singapore Botanic Gardens.

I went to the gardens on a gloriously hot and sunny Singapore morning, the type where you wake up and the sky is crystal clear and blue as anything. Not being outside on a morning like that was, frankly, rude! I took the MRT to the newly opened Botanic Gardens stop. The MRT drops you right at the north corner of the gardens, leaving you free to explore it in its entirety. It was so peaceful just walking through the winding little paths, looking at the beautiful foliage and hearing the birds singing. It was just what I needed after having to listen to endless construction noise outside our temporary apartment. I know everyone always says that the Botanic Gardens are an oasis in the middle of Singapore but clichés exist for a reason, right?! It really is so incredibly relaxing and calm there.

There were other people out and about enjoying the morning and the scenery, and I got lots of friendly smiles whenever I passed other people who were similarly wandering aimlessly around! I had great fun admiring all the foliage and marvelling at all the unusual plants that I’d never seen, including some that had what looked like giant hairy strawberries hanging from them (see picture below – does anyone know what they are?)

I wanted to go into the Healing Garden, as it sounded fascinating; all about the different types of plants that are used in medicine. But sadly on this occasion it was shut – not sure why, but it’s a good excuse to go back!

I made it to the Visitors Centre in the middle of the gardens and sat in the shade for a little bit enjoying the trees with little waterfalls underneath them.  I was seriously hot by this point, despite having consumed a lot of water – I had got a bit lost trying to find my way – so it was lovely to sit in the shade and listen to the running water and just chill out for a bit. I then walked up to the Orchid Garden and Ginger Garden but I think a massive tour group had just arrived, as there were a lot of people there. Again, one for another day, and I’ll definitely be back to buy some orchids once we’re in our new flat!

As you walk down from the Orchid Garden towards the Holland Road exit, there are loads of little concept gardens, like one with loads of bonsai trees in it, and lots of sculptures dotted around everywhere. There is so much to see here! I walked along the side of a lake that has this amazing sculpture of birds (I think they are swans) taking off from the middle of it. There was a little pavilion with a family having a picnic all together next to the lake as well – what a great idea.

I left at the Holland Road exit, by the big gates, pretty hot by this time! I thoroughly enjoyed my morning having a little slice of peace and quiet. It was great just walking around soaking up the sights, sounds, and smells. I’ll definitely be back to continue exploring!

8 responses »

  1. That looks fun! I haven’t hit the botanic gardens but I have hit the Chinese and Japanese Gardens. I LOVED them! Hope they are on your bucket list too! What a cute way to do a bucket list though.

    • Laurel, its a great spot for a bit of lazy walking around, with tons of stuff to look at. Haven’t been to the other gardens yet but sounds like I need to get myself down there.

  2. Hoooraaayyyy!!!! LOVED your post hun and thank you so much for all of the photos and the descriptions 🙂 Glad you enjoyed the gardens and really looking forward to hearing about all the activites on your list xxxxxxxxx

    • You are so welcome (and you will be a legend in blogging circles before too long)! I had a wonderful time, and I’m already plotting what I’m going to do next off the list. It was so much fun, knowing I was going for me but also for you ladies back home – its like you’re with me, which is FAB! Love you lots x x x x

  3. Glad you enjoyed your visit – I love the Botanic Gardens and also agree that the Chinese and Japanese Gardens are great too and worth a visit. There is a turtle and tortoise place at those gardens as well which for a small entrance fee is a bit of a novelty.

  4. Fantastic blog! Ms Jacksons bucket list ideas sure make for lovely reading my dear. London is so cold today, the idea of pottering around botanical gardens in the sunshine is very appealing! Your photo’s are gorgeous. I want to know what the dangling hairy strawberry type things are- if you find out let us know! I am looking forward to hearing more adventures soon sweet cheeks xxxxx

  5. the one thing I would change in Singapore is the weather (sadly out of my control)…just a few degrees colder please….then everything would be so much better.

    I like the Botanic Gardens after it’s rained. Nice and cool 🙂

    Can’t wait to read about your food adventures…esp with things like durian 😉

    • Yes, I was pretty hot by the time I got on the bus home, despite drinking too bottles of water! But it makes such a change to cold, grey England that its still a novelty 🙂

      Durian is definitely on my list of things to try so I’ll keep you posted with how I get on with that, and other dishes!

Leave a Reply

