Liebster Blog awards

Standard

I am deeply touched to have been nominated for a Liebster Blog Award not just once, but twice, by two fellow expat bloggers. The rationale behind these blog awards is that they are a way of showing love for blogs you follow, so I am pretty excited to have received two!

My first nomination was from Laura over at Expat Adventures in Singapore. I got to know Laura’s blog long before I moved to Singapore, having done some extensive Googling on what life was really like living here. I loved Laura’s open and engaging writing style. All her posts are incredibly informative and helpful, but personal as well. I found a lot of comfort and confidence from what I read on her blog, and I think in some part, my decision to move here was influenced by what I read on her blog. Since I have arrived, I’ve got to know her as a person, and she is just as lovely and supportive in the flesh!

My second nomination was from Crystal at Expat Bostonians. Like Laura, I got to know Crystal’s blog before I moved. I loved her personal and incisive posts, and I also really liked how honest she is, and how she isn’t afraid of writing about things that she feels strongly about. I love reading about her experiences here, and of how that fits in with being a Mum to her two gorgeous girls. I’ve also met Crystal in person a couple of times now, and I am really excited about getting to know her better.

Thank you both for your nominations, and for your friendship 🙂

‘Liebster’ means ‘favourite’ or ‘dearest’ in German.  This award, which originated in Germany, recognizes up and coming bloggers with less than 200 followers.
In accepting the award, the recipient agrees to:

  • Thank the person that gave the award and link back to their blog.
  • Copy and paste the award to your blog
  • Reveal the 5 blogs you have chosen to award and let them know by commenting on their blog.
  • Hope they pay it forward by accepting and awarding it to bloggers they would like to honour.

It was really hard picking out blog that I love, that haven’t already been nominated. Many of the Singapore/expat blogs I read have already been nominated!The 5 blogs I have therefore chosen are a mixture of things that I love, but ones that I enjoy reading very much:

Fellow Fellow is written by a fellow Claire! I like to think of it as more of a scrapbook of things – Claire makes and sells her beautiful handmade paper creations, and blogs about things that inspire her, or photos of things that she working on. I love how her personality shines through, and reading her blog is a treat for the eyes (and sometimes ears!).

Alexa Loves is written by my friend Alexa, who lives back in the UK. She has recently made the move from the big smoke, to out in the country, and we share a passion for owning chickens some day! Alexa takes the most beautiful photographs, and I love looking at her gorgeous shots of England. I’ve been reading her blog for a few months now, but have really come to treasure it since I moved away.

North/South Food is written by an Irish brother and sister duo. He lives in the north of England, she lives in Brixton (my old stomping ground!). I’ve been reading their blog for some time and love reading all about their experiments with cooking and trying out weird and wonderful ingredients. I can’t count the number of times I’ve been inspired to make something after reading their blog, and the number of times I’ve sat in front of my computer just salivating!

Little Loaf is another London-based food blogger. She shares her passion for baking (breads and desserts) and for ice cream, and the occasional savoury dish! I get serious baking envy reading her posts and looking at her photos, and love reading about her latest creations. I love her passion for what she does, as it shines through her writing.

Food Urchin is also a London food blogger (spotted a trend yet folks?!). I got to know him via Twitter, and his tweets and blog posts make me cry with laughter all the time. I would love to be a fly on the wall with him for a day! His blog is brilliantly funny, and full of personality, as well as gorgeous things to cook. A new favourite of mine.

5 responses »

    • Thank you honey – so glad you are enjoying reading it. I have a bunch of bucket list things that I’ve ticked off, so I better get to writing them up. Lots of love xx

  1. BIg hug from the (currently frozen) North… so glad you like our adventures. We’re just celebrating our blog’s second birthday and this nomination is such a lovely and unexpected present. Thank you!

    • Love your blog – been reading it for a while now. Congrats on reaching your 2nd birthday! Was sorry to miss you (and other bloggers) on AQOT – tragedy of living abroad … no iPlayer!

Leave a Reply

